Lens, Lines and Lineage Exhibition @SCPL

On June 10, I hope you will join me along with photographer Ed Boden and fellow artist Jawanna Herd at the Scott County Public Library in Georgetown, Kentucky as it opens its gallery doors to the public for the “Lens, Lines and Lineage” Exhibition.

I have 10 pieces in this exhibition.

These works were done over the past 18 months and they are unlike anything I have done before and will ever do again.

I began with a 30 x 40 canvas that became “The Spirit of Radio” and ended with the two smallest pieces, “Let it Be” and “Kashmir”.

All of the pieces are titled from songs that have played through my head and on my radio throughout my life here on this big blue marble.

While the pieces are not representative of the lyrics themselves, they are a reflection of those rhythms and emotions that arise and arose from the music as it flowed through me.

Each piece is built from a chosen palette base of Oil Paints or Acrylic Paints at my easel, followed by the addition of varietal colored India Inks. After drying and curing, white ink makes its way to the painted and inked surface from a flat work position.

Phase I and II are completed in the solitude of my studio and the white inking or Phase III is done at the breakfast table on the first floor.

Some phases of work require privacy of thought and others require the movement and energy of a livelier location. Most of the time I prefer working near the kitchen and the family room. Even if I am alone, the energies of those spaces are warm, refueled and always changing.

Life, is in the busy places.

As the white inking begins, I allow my mind to dance through the rhythms of music to the song that has been designated through the palette choice from the beginning.

I take breaks often and give rest to my fingertips and my mind and I had to reorder ink, not once, but twice.

It took some practice to allow my hand and my subconscious to work in unison without practicality and overthinking getting in the way.

When I returned to the work after breaks, I spun the canvas and began a new starting point, to create a dispersed flow of starts and stops.

This process will hopefully enable the viewer to look at the pieces, without being drawn in one direction or another.

While many critics might find this an odd objective, since balance, composition and the draw of the eye is usually a large consideration for works, it is a sincere hope that each time they are viewed, new outcomes abound.

In a sense, these pieces are a collective of broken rules.

I am truly excited to be a part of this Exhibition and I am also looking forward to the reveal myself, as their presentation design will be a surprise for me as well.

See you on June 10. 5-7 pm.
If you can’t make the Reception, you can find the Exhibition up through July.

Boost post

Like

Comment

Share

Leave a comment